Raspberry Rhubarb Scones

While there is a brief reprieve in the heat wave here in Philadelphia, I’m continuing the seasonal and raspberry rhubarb theme with these yummy raspberry rhubarb scones.  I became inspired to make these scones by Food52’s Naughty Rhubarb Scones.  I had the rhubarb, but I also still had some leftover raspberries, so I thought, why not raspberry rhubarb scones?

 

These are good paired with coffee or tea.  Eat them for breakfast or brunch.  Enjoy!

Raspberry Rhubarb Scones

Ingredients:

1/2 Cup Rhubarb, chopped about 1/4″ thick

1/2 Cup Raspberries

2 1/2 Cups Flour

Tbls Baking Powder

1/2 tsp Salt

8 Tbls Unsalted Butter

1/2 Cup Vanilla Sugar (if you can not find vanilla sugar, regular granulated sugar is fine)

2/3 Cups Heavy Cream

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425°F.

Sift flour, baking powder and salt together in food processor.  Process butter into flour until mixture resembles small peas. Blend in 1/4 cup of sugar. Transfer mixture into a large mixing bowl.  Gently mix in the rhubarb and raspberries.  Slowly stir in the heavy cream until a soft dough forms.  Place dough on floured surface, separate and flatten into 6-inch disks.  Cut each circle into 4 scones. Sprinkle with remaining sugar.  Place on parchment paper covered cookie sheet and bake about 20 minutes or until slightly browned on top.  Makes about 12 scones.  Enjoy!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Bridget Fay says:

    Oh my gosh!! This sounds incredible!! I’m such a sucker for scones so I have to try this out!
    Bridget
    https://bridylife.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lise says:

    These sound so good for tea! Will definitely give it a go if I can get my hands on some rhubarb x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment